Medicare Eligibility, Age, Qualifications And Requirements

Posted by:  :  Category: Medicare

You can also qualify for premium-free Part A benefits on your spouse’s work record if he or she is at least age 62 and you are at least age 65. You also may qualify on the work record of a divorced or deceased spouse. Following the Supreme Court’s 2015 ruling, people in same-sex marriages can qualify for Medicare on their spouse’s work record, regardless of where they live or where they were married.

Hospice eligibility requirements

The LCDs for the hospice’s geographic area are used as guidelines to help a physician determine hospice eligibility.  The LCDs are not regulations and should not be used exclusively to determine or provide evidence of hospice eligibility.  Certification or recertification is based upon a physician’s clinical judgment, and is not an exact science.  Congress made this clear in Section 322 of the Benefits Improvement and Protection Act of 2000 (BIPA), which says that the hospice certification of terminal illness “shall be based on the physician’s or medical director’s clinical judgment regarding the normal course of the individual’s illness.”

Original Medicare (Part A and B) Eligibility and Enrollment

To be eligible for premium-free Part A, an individual must be entitled to receive Medicare based on their own earnings or those of a spouse, parent, or child. To receive premium-free Part A, the worker must have a specified number of quarters of coverage (QCs) and file an application for Social Security or Railroad Retirement Board (RRB) benefits. The exact number of QCs required is dependent on whether the person is filing for Part A on the basis of age, disability, or End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD). QCs are earned through payment of payroll taxes under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) during the person’s working years. Most individuals pay the full FICA tax so the QCs they earn can be used to meet the requirements for both monthly Social Security benefits and premium-free Part A.

Pension Eligibility Requirements

UMWA 1974 Pension Plan The 1974 Pension Plan is a defined benefit plan. That means that the Plan specifies the eligibility requirements to receive a pension or death benefit and specifies how the amounts of those benefits are determined.  The plan provides retirement (service) pensions, disability pensions, and pensions for the surviving spouses of some mine workers. The 1950 Pension Plan merged into the 1974 Pension Plan effective June 30, 2007.  The basic eligibility rules for the different types of pensions are described below. More detailed information is provided in the Summary Plan Description of the UMWA 1974 Pension Plan.

How to Verify Eligibility & Benefits of Medicare Patients

Review eligibility guidelines for Part D, Advantage and Medigap plans if you require prescription coverage or additional hospital and/or outpatient medical coverage. All these plans require enrollment in Medicare as the first eligibility requirement. However, unlike Part A and B, these plans also require that other eligibility requirements be met, including residing in a specific geographic region within the United States. You can determine eligibility requirements and explanation of benefits for these plans under "Plan Choices" on

Getting started with Medicare

There are 2 main ways to get your Medicare coverage— Original Medicare or a Medicare Advantage Plan (like an HMO or PPO). Some people get additional coverage, like Medicare prescription drug coverage or Medicare Supplement Insurance (Medigap). Learn about these coverage choices and 3 steps to help you decide how to get your coverage.

Related posts:

  1. Medicare Eligibility, Age, Qualifications And Requirements
  2. Medicare Eligibility, Age, Qualifications And Requirements
  3. Medicare Eligibility, Age, Qualifications And Requirements
  4. Medicare Eligibility, Age, Qualifications And Requirements
  5. Medicare Eligibility Requirements

Comments are closed.